Hello, I'm New!

hiccupping-hippo

Registered
Hello,

I have been visiting the forum for a while now and thought I should pop in and say hello!

I'm totally new to birds but have always wanted a little feathered friend!

I have been researching for a very long time – think I must be one of Amazon's best customers for second-hand parrot books!! - and I think and hope that I have narrowed the choice down to three, an Alexandrine, a Quaker or a Senegal.

The only worry I have is that – hopefully!! - I will reach the big '50' next year and I don't want to take on a bird that may end up being re-homed one day... Of course, I understand that circumstances can change for any number of reasons but much as I love them, I wouldn't take on something like an African Grey who would still be a baby when I'm – hopefully! - in my dotage!

I'd like a happy, friendly bird who could play, enjoy company, be taken for walks, and has the ability to talk – I don't mind noise, but not screeching.

I have loads of love to give and work from home much of the time but would like for the bird to have the ability to be left alone for a while each day if that changes in the future. I have no children so that is not a problem, no little hands to worry about!

I won't be in a position to actually bring a bird into my life until late this year or early next, but would like to spend the time until then getting everything ready, cage, toys, playstand etc!

I live in Cornwall and don't drive so travelling to breeders is going to be huge problem, there are pet shops down here which sell birds but I do worry that it may be a huge mistake to buy from one.

Please can I have your thoughts on which bird would be best for me?  I am so indecisive and love each one of those I have mentioned! Thank you so much!

Hi hiccupping-hippo and :welcome:

I think you are acting very responsibly by researching, and looking at your personal circumstances.

I hope you get the species of parrot you have decided upon.