1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thinking Of Adopting A Parrot..

Discussion in 'Parrot Media' started by Grant Pattison, Apr 30, 2018.

1. Grant Pattison

Grant Pattison Registered

Hello everyone.
    After a while of looking at parrots, reading about parrots and watching different videos of parrots I think I've narrowed it down to adopting eitber a conure, Senegal or ring neck parrot. The ring neck being my favourite. Now... I've been told and have read that me being male that I'll need to adopt a female parrot ?? Does anyone think or know this to be solid fact or not? The only reason I ask is that I like the look of the male ringneck because the ring but it's not a deal breaker. Do males talk more than females?

Sorry if I sound like a total newbie and thank you in advance for any help, abuse or advice you can give.

Cheers grant.:emoji_blush:

2. dianaT

dianaT Moderator Staff Member Moderator

:welcome: Grant

Good for you doing your research before taking on a parrot.

I have heard it said that the male/female parrot specie become more friendly with the opposite sex human but it is not always the case.
    If you are going to adopt a bird do go to a charity who really does their best to pair the parrot and you up, although in any case a rehomed bird usually takes some time to settle.

Let's see what our other members can advise.

DizzyBlue and Grant Pattison like this.
  3. Grant Pattison

Hi Diana.

Yeah seems like alot to learn but that' a good thing. Never heard of charities that offer this, can you recommend any?

Thanks

4. dianaT

No the forum do not recommend any . Are you a Face Book user if so you may come across some on there but please research carefully.