Questions ...

Samin Alakozay

Registered
Hey guys
This is just out of curiosity but I had some questions around bird breeding I hope someone can answer

1. Is bird breeding wrong ?
  2. Are there any bird breeders in this form?
  3. Do breeders take money
  4. Isit hard to become a breeder?
  5. Are different kind of birds harder to breed?

I’m new to the bird world and for whatever reason I’ve been addicted to bird breeding last few days I’m sure it’s just a phase but thought I’d ask these questions

Thanks guys

DizzyBlue

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
ok since you ask will go through the replies from my opinion and knowledge....

1. Is bird breeding wrong ? My thoughts - go look around and see how many are looking for new homes and are in charity rescues trying desperately to find new homes.
  2. Are there any bird breeders in this form? Yes quite a few of us we're or are breeders
  3. Do breeders take money. Yes if you set up as a hobby breeder you sell the birds for money however the price does not cover the rearing costs, incubators, hand rear mixtures, spare cages, hospital cages, hmmm and worst of all … sifting through people as to who you think is a responsible owner before selling them one of your birds.... seriously that becomes a right nightmare and so a lot of us actually gave up when it came to that stage
  4. Is it hard to become a breeder? Yes there is heaps to learn to be a responsible breeder people think you just get a male and a female stick em together and make heaps of money … defo does not work that way. Diet changes, do the partners you match up make a good breeding pair ie are they perfect birds health wise personality wise and obviously genetically
  5. Are different kind of birds harder to breed? Definitely look at things like cockatiels you see a lot on the market and then go and read up about how hard it is to bred a hyacinth macaw in that species more none breeding birds out there than actual breeding ones