Lovebird obsessed with my fingernails?

Froggin

Registered
Hi. A bit of background for you all, I’m very new to bird ownership and came into possession of a lovebird around a month ago. We named him Romeo. I primarily take care of him but still live at home with my parents and siblings who also enjoy spending time with him. My Mum found Romeo when out for a walk in the town and knew that he obviously wasn’t wild so took him home. We’ve looked up his tag number and posted pictures of him on social media trying to find his original owner with no luck and with lockdown now having been in affect for a few weeks now, he’s pretty much ours.

He’s a very lovely bird, very friendly from right off the bat. Wants to be involved in whatever you’re doing and just generally loves people. He’s settled very quickly into a routine and I give him plenty of time outside his cage throughout the day. However the last two days his behaviour has changed. He still wants to be with you but he has become obsessed with trying to bite my fingernails. I keep my nails quite short and he’s at risk of really hurting me if he manages to crack them. So I’ve tried redirecting this behaviour, encouraging him to play and chew toys which he would, until he saw my fingers and he’d go back to trying to chew my fingernails. So I tried hiding my fingers, and he started trying to chew my lips. So I hid my lips and he started nibbling at my chin and neck. Today I managed to calm him down by playing some lovebird noises on my phone and letting him hang about while I did my morning routine, which worked for a short while, but then he was back to chewing my fingernails, although not as obsessively as before.