Help

earlybirdx

Registered
Hi all, can you kindly give me some advice!!!
I have had my Sun Conure for approx 6 months, he is 10 months old. He is very friendly flying on my shoulder and taking food out of my hand however I cannot get him used to letting me touch him/he does not step up or anything. He comes to me on his terms only. As I am home based for work he is always out of his cage (I dont like him being in it except to sleep and if I go out) from first thing until approx 8pm.
Please help ... I am fed up chasing him to get him back in his cage.
:budgie:

Hi there. I'm no expert, but I have two mini macaws who need to go into their cage together every night so I trained them using their favourite treat, pine nuts. It took some time and patience, but now it is just part of their routine and they look forward to going to bed because they know they will get a treat. They usually start telling me "come, come" which is Hahn's macaw for "bedtime" about 7PM (their bedtime is 7:30 PM. To be fair though, the don't get out during the day as I need to work and can't do that with Madame Ziggy trying to eat my laptop, so they come out when I'm finished at 4PM. They are perfectly happy in their cage, but then again there are two of them.

Sent from my Moto Z2 Play using Tapatalk

Hi there. I'm no expert, but I have two mini macaws who need to go into their cage together every night so I trained them using their favourite treat, pine nuts. It took some time and patience, but now it is just part of their routine and they look forward to going to bed because they know they will get a treat. They usually start telling me "come, come" which is Hahn's macaw for "bedtime" about 7PM (their bedtime is 7:30 PM. To be fair though, the don't get out during the day as I need to work and can't do that with Madame Ziggy trying to eat my laptop, so they come out when I'm finished at 4PM. They are perfectly happy in their cage, but then again there are two of them.