Hello

Caz Duncan

Registered
I am English living in Spain. I have taken custody of a parrot. Complete novice. I have an aviary of finches so have some bird skills. The parrot (Fred) is now in an aviary of his own. I have no idea of what type he is and when he has settled a bit I will post pics. Am sure somebody here will know what type he is. Looking forward to learning about him and will most certainly be looking for advice. Forgot to say that he was rescued from a house where he had probably never been let out of a small cage and was in a poorly maintained and dirty cage. Caz.

:welcome: Good for you rescuing and giving a home to the parrot. Do post up a photo when you can.
We do have a member @Lisa7284 who now lives in Spain too.

Hi Caz and welcome to the forum from me and my gang :)
I see he was a pet bird and you have put him / her into an aviary. That may cause some issues if he has never been outside. What are the current temperatures where you are? Is he put inside during the night? Birds that have lived indoors need to be acclimatised before being put into an aviary. Plus things can be very scary for them if they have not see the outside world for a very long time if ever.
We have some brilliant posts called "stickies" these can be found inside each of the forum folders at the top of the folder with a little picture of a drawing pin on the righ hand side of them these are the ones we feel are the most important posts such as diet, things they are NOT allowed to have, things they should have, things to watch out for such as dangerous things like candles, Teflon and air fresheners etc. Either way if you want to know or ask anything just go ahead and ask there is no such thing as a daft question :) we all started somewhere and have been lucky enough to have others to help us to get to where we are now and we're all still learning.