Going on holifay

Sallyann

Registered
Hi all I'm new to a feathered baby I have a kakarikis. I've had him about 2 months and I'm just about to go on holiday for a week can I ask for the best advice on care. Do i take him to my aunt bit he won't be coming out his cage, he's hand reared or do i take him to my friends who will get him him out but still means travelling. Other option is take him with me but it's 2 hours and I don't want him stressed. The other option I've read is someone coming in a few times a day. Any advice is appreciated.

Roz

Ooooh I don't know. It depends on the bird. Does he prefer your aunt or your friend? Who is more comfortable handling/feeding him? You could indeed take him with you if you are able to care for him. When I moved from London to Jersey the birds all had to stay in their travel cages for 12 hours. They were absolutely fine. The one who I thought would be stressed enjoyed the journey the most!

Sallyann

Registered
Ooooh I don't know. It depends on the bird. Does he prefer your aunt or your friend? Who is more comfortable handling/feeding him? You could indeed take him with you if you are able to care for him. When I moved from London to Jersey the birds all had to stay in their travel cages for 12 hours. They were absolutely fine. The one who I thought would be stressed enjoyed the journey the most!
Hi thank u for coming back to me it's a hard one he likes them both im just worried he will come back a different bird. I think I might take him with me and next time see if I can get someone to come round a few times a day I just dont want to make the wrong decision. He did go to my aunt's for a couple of nights the other week but came home nervous and not himself i wasn't sure why I guess sulking as missed us

Reactions: Roz

Michael Reynolds