1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Choosing Perches

Discussion in 'Health' started by Anita Orban, Jul 10, 2018.

1. Anita Orban

Anita Orban Regular Member Registered

Hi All,

As soon I am going to buy a new cage for my 2 ringnecks and I thought I will buy new perches as well as one of them enjoys destroy them. There are many types of the market so I was wondering what is your experiences. I have found a video on YouTube () which was interesting. I have already found grapevine perch on Scarlet`s website so it is already in my wish list and also was thinking about Java perch although that guy is not really recommend it. As I am not an expert though I will ask your opinion too. Many thanks!

2. dianaT

dianaT Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Hi Anita, in my opinion the best perches are natural ones you can get from your own or neighbours gardens etc i.e. apple tree, hazel, willow to name a few. They need to be in varying sizes - some thicker than others, this enables to feet to be flexed and exercised, also they can chew these perches too. Give them a good scrub first. I fix ours in using cable ties. You can also have shop bought ones in addition to these. I hope this helps.

3. Parrot797

Parrot797 Regular Member

I use willow branches,these can be found near waterways and are free!

DizzyBlue, Anita Orban and dianaT like this.
  4. Heather2131

Heather2131 Regular Member

I have 1 nail trimming perch
    A rope perch and lots of natural branches from a copper beech tree

Anita Orban and dianaT like this.
  5. TomsMum

TomsMum Administrator Staff Member Admin

Java is great as it’s hard and durable, but birds can find sloping branches of it difficult to grip onto, so wrap some rope around or use Vet wrap.