bird not drinking

niamhandori

Registered
Sorry to be posting so much but today I haven’t seen Koji drink. he’s going to the toilet fine and is eating well. he may have drank when i left him around 12pm but i’m not sure.

i’ve tried giving him a bowl out of his cage where he likes be to. i’ve tried a bigger bowl. i’m just not sure how to convince him to drink. he’s doing well and seems fine in himself. he’s sitting with me and is way more comfortable now.

he may have drank but i’ve missed it but i wanted to ask on here for any advice. i’m still pretty new to birds as he’s my second one and he’s very different to how my first bird was. i know a lot about birds and i know they sometimes don’t drink at first but i don’t know what to actually do in this situation.

any help is appreciated
thank you

niamhandori

Registered
I haven’t been as i only got him 2 days ago and today is the first day he seems comfortable with me handling him so from tomorrow i will be weighing him. I’ll try giving him some moist fruit i offered him pineapple earlier but he wasn’t eaten that yet but i’ll try with some orange or grapes. Thank you

niamhandori

Registered
oh that’s really good to hear. he doesn’t seem dehydrated but my other bird drinks a lot and since he’s only my 2nd bird i do worry when i think something isn’t right. that’s really good to know that you don’t see yours drink. i’m just not sure what’s normal for Koji yet

dianaT

Staff member
To set your mind at rest you could gently spray him with a hand held spray with warm water in (not in the evening though as he needs to be dry before bedtime) and he will eventuallypress those feather and get moisture. Also spraying at least weekly helps keep the feathers nice, so of mine enjoy it some don't!

niamhandori

Registered
I actually did try this earlier but didn’t think about him getting water from his wet feathers. that’s really helpful and has definitely calmed me down a bit!