Aviary Advice

SilverCell

Hi everyone, we have been throwing the idea around our house on building an outdoor aviary in the garden, its just an idea at the min and I'm just trying to find out information from others that have outdoor aviaries. I would like to keep conures quakers and other small parrots with the goal of attempting breeding. I have a space where I can build a 10-12ft x 6ft x 7ft flight area and a 6x6 indoor area most likely a shed. I have never done anything like this before so I need advice on how many birds could live comfortably in this space and which species get along well together. I know nothing about breeding so any advice on that is most welcome. Is this a reasonable size aviary ?. The building of the aviary I have all worked out more or less.

Regarding the building, am I right in thinking that 13mm mesh is the right size ? I also need to know about the indoor roosting area and what is needed inside the shed.

Well I guess first of all have to ask about the proximity of neighbours, conures and even more so quakers can be REALLY noisy!

If noise is not an issue then decide what you want to keep, conures ideally need to be kept in pairs in individual aviaries one pair per enclosure so you could split the aviary, maybe in a 6x6 shed you could have 3@ 2x2 indoor cages going out to flights 2x10 for pairs or if you want just quakers you can house them in a colony in the size you have.

The only parrotlike which will mix for breeding in my opinion are quakers, cockatiels and budgies (single species), I would say everything else needs to be in pairs and also the divisions need to be double wired to stop fighting/toe biting between flights. If you go down the first route I would make solid partitions between the indoor part so you can put up boxes inside and the pairs will have privacy.
There are some pics on here of an aviary I recently built which may give you more idea of what I mean