1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adoption Hopeful

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Latindancer, Apr 10, 2019.

1. Latindancer

Latindancer Regular Member

Hi everyone

What a fantastic forum and information resource this place is, I’m a little concerned that the more time I spend here researching, the more that parrot owning could become a serious addiction.

Sorry about my poor etiquette I should probably have come here first to introduce myself, but just so excited I waded into other forum pages with questions once I discovered the site I’m a total newbie with exotic birds and I’m n the process of adopting a Mealy Amazon, very excited and can’t wait for his arrival. I’m 51 and live on the Worcester/Birmingham border. Ive always loved birds and I currently share my home and garden with 12 exbatt hens from the BHWT, who are enjoying their retirement and two budgies called Frankie & Betty adopted from separate gumtree homes, but are now a bonded pair.

Looking forward to getting to know everyone

Cheers...Tracey

Heather2131, dianaT, cazimodo and 2 others like this.
  2. DizzyBlue

DizzyBlue Administrator Staff Member Admin

Hi and welcome to the forum lovely to have you onboard :)
    I am an amazon addict so can understand why you have chosen a mealy.
    It does indeed become an addiction but remember this … you will realise like the rest of us we think we own them and actually whilst we are not looking they start to own us lol it becomes an obsession indeed and they are companions rather than pets with a very high degree of intelligence of a human child at the age of about 4 years of age.
    Lovely when people do their homework and learn before the birdie lands so to speak so you know the basics like parrot proofing your house removing Teflon, candles, certain house plants etc a lifetime commitment but oh so very very worth while.